“AMERICA”

America,America
The Land of The Free
What is it that draws Me here?
To the Land that claims
You Are Free!
America,America
The land of the Free
Oh I have many things to offer
Once here you see
I watch them come
From every Shore
To America,America
The Land of the Free
Except the Haitians
Who were turned back to
the Sea
They came by boat loads
But were not Welcomed here
In America,America
The Land of the Free
Now there land is all torn
And Many bodies have been thrown
Into silent graves you see
Yet here in America we claim we
Claim we are Free
But the Haitians were never
Good enough for us you see
So God in his Mercy
I truly believe has Set Many Free
God is Wonderful,Understanding and full of love
You See
Many,Many Haitians are Free
God has I believed Set them Free
Without reaching The Shores
Of America,America
The Land of the Free
I am devastated you see
Could it be that they
look like me
Could be but it’s also
The Love in me
I Thank God,I Thank God
Many,Many Haitians are Free
Without Coming To
America,America
The land of the free
There is a “Freedom” you see
Unknown to Many
And it comes through Jesus Christ
For Heaven is true “Freedom” to Me!

Written by : Pat Thacker

11 thoughts on ““AMERICA”

  1. I remember a sermon when my pastor related a comment from a Chinese pastor who said that the “persecution” of the American church comes from its own prosperity. I believe he was right and I believe it frequently causes folks who claim that Christian values are guiding their political positions to take very positions like turning economic refugees from Haiti away while allowing political refugees from Cuba.

    Comment by bluedrew — January 16, 2010

  2. Oh Pat, I don’t know what to say. This post really did bring tears to my eyes. I have no answers and no reasons to offer why this country does what it does and makes the decisions it makes. All I can do is pray for these people in Haiti and that the Lord somehow use this tragedy to bring comfort to them so that they may turn to Him for the eternal reward that only He can offer.

    I am blessed to live in America where I am free but this blessing is nothing if I am not saved. On the other hand, living in a country such as Haiti but if one is saved, they are better off than the unsaved American.

    Be blessed and thank you for this post.

  3. I love you too, Pat.

    You have the courage and wisdom to achieve anything you want,
    I like it when you open your mind to God and be willing to learn new skills and try new things.
    Bless your heart,
    Take care. 🙂

  4. Pat – what a post – true freedom is in Christ Jesus. In so many ways, we are in bondage here in America – it comes in different forms – but everyone is regardless of where they are until they move into the only truly free place, the Kindgom of God.

    Rachel

  5. Hey Pat,
    I love your poetry, I love that you are making us think about the things that the “conservatives” are so busy avoiding.
    I was just a dumb teenager when I thought “hey we have occasional crop surpluses in this country, why don’t we send that food to people who are starving.” I was told that I was naive and that it would cost too much. Now days I just think that I was being taught to take comfort in excuses, to live a life based on excuses, to build my foundation on sand.
    We have always been ready to spend money on the things we really want to do. We just don’t want to do what’s right and just.
    We don’t even recognize the bondage we labor under because we have excuses for that too.
    Let’s all pray for the freedom which comes from listening to the Lord and freely carrying out what he wants us to do day by day, moment by moment. Growing closer to Him, walking with Him. Then we will need no excuses, we will build on solid rock, we will be free indeed.

    Nathan

Thanks so much for your comments,I do appreciate you.

