Don’t Forget God

Psalm 137

English: Jerusalem, Dome of the rock, in the b...
English: Jerusalem, Dome of the rock, in the background the Church of the Holy Sepulchre Deutsch: Jerusalem, Felsendom, im Hintergrund die Grabeskirche (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

1 Beside the rivers of Babylon, we sat and wept
as we thought of Jerusalem.t2 We put away our harps,
hanging them on the branches of poplar trees.3 For our captors demanded a song from us.
Our tormentors insisted on a joyful hymn:
“Sing us one of those songs of Jerusalem!”4 But how can we sing the songs of the LORD
while in a pagan land?5 If I forget you, O Jerusalem,
let my right hand forget how to play the harp.6 May my tongue stick to the roof of my mouth
if I fail to remember you. (NLT)

“O Jerusalem,O Jerusalem”!  While at home,Jerusalem represents home. Yes while at home we’re so busy sending text messages and emails until we barely speak to each other. Then there’s the time we must spend on Facebook and Google Plus,we’re just so busy. Then of course there is our smart phones,oh mercy if you don’t have one,you just feel out of the loop. Oh let’s not forget Twitter,I mean if you’re not Tweeting you’re really out of sync with today’s way of doing things. It’s really so easy to forget what’s important,when you’re so busy doing so much. At first we just start missing our time in the word,then we look up and we’re missing more and more time in Church. We hardly have any time for Bible study,we’re so busy doing things our way. I mean it gets to the point where we’ve really pushed God out of our lives,it happens slowly,so we barely even notice we’ve slipped away from a wonderful closeness to God. God  is so good and He allows us to enjoy much,but when you look around like the children of Israel  and see how far you’ve fallen,what then? The children of Israel were lamenting over the good they enjoyed at home,now that there sinfulness had caught up with them. We cannot forget God and think that there will be no consequences or repercussions,because sin carries its own punishment . Here they find themselves sitting by the rivers weeping,being tormented by their captors! It has to be hard,being dragged off to a foreign country leaving your comfort zone behind. Their captors demanded a song,the good old songs you sang at home. But there was no singing going on now,but even in a hard and difficult place,we can sing. Especially when we remember to whom we belong,repent and turn back to God. Let’s  listen and pay attention so that we recognize God’s voice,before we get into Babylon.

Love in Christ Pat

10 thoughts on “Don’t Forget God

  1. Great point Sister Pat. Just this morning my mind was wondering if I had an “old soul” because I am not hooked on Twitter, texting and such. I like face to face conversations and all. Now while I do like my phone for all that it does, it’s my primary connection to keep in contact with my kids since we live out in the country and they ride the school bus. Perhaps I am veering off a bit but I get your point in how we can get so caught up in things that keep us from spending time with the Lord. Thank you and God bless. Love ya!

  2. This really resonated with me Precious Pat. I was late to starting fb and twitter . . .and all too soon, just fell behind and stopped trying to keep up. I can’t do all the new things there are to do. No smart phone because I’m not smart enough to know how to work one anyway! 🙂 I want to praise Him and sing about the new thing HE is doing in us today, and not miss it. God bless you and give you a hug for me! lots of love and prayers!

    1. Thanks Debbie you crack me up,but I do understand. It took me awhile to get started,but I’m praying for more intimate time with our Father. Thanks for the hugs and kisses,right back to you.
      Love you 😀

  3. So good Sister Pat. It is necessary to remember God now before we experience a Babylon judgment. In fact if we don’t pull ourselves aside for God now when it is easy how then will we do it when our world is crashing down around us?

    1. Amen! Pastor J. how true that is,and God gives us so much time,we must take advantage of it.Thanks for stopping in and for your encouraging comment.
      Love you 😀

Thanks so much for your comments,I do appreciate you.

